Curtocircuíto presents its Official Selection, made up of 39 films from 21 countries


The 18th edition of Curtocircuíto - International Film Festival focuses on experimental filmmaking, showcasing the international scene’s most recent and daring creations in its Official Selection, divided between sections Explora and Radar. The Official Selection of Curtocircuíto 2021 features 15 premieres in total, eight of them in Spain and seven in Galicia. 

The Radar and Explora programmes are made up of 39 films from 21 different countries, bringing boundary-pushing creativity, diversity, and new AV languages to Curtocircuíto. A selection of these films will also be available via the festival's online streaming channel, Curtocircuíto on Filmin, thus continuing with last year’s hybrid format.

Radar: dots on the film map

Once again, Radar features this year's more unconventional narrative films. Like the technological apparatus from which it derives its name, this section highlights the best, most interesting recent films. A total of 22 cinematographic experiments that function like small dots on a map: although they seem distant and separate, by studying them closely one can see a bigger picture. 

Exploring themes such as self-defining one’s identity, drug-induced artificial paradises, the glitch gap, or the sublimation of excess, we can find returning filmmakers like British-Argentine Jessica Sarah Rinland, presenting her latest work Sol de Campinas; Canadian screenwriter and director Guy Maddin, with The Rabbit Hunters; French Marie Losier, with Taxidermisez-moi; and Bertrand Mandico, who’ll be screening Dead Flash. These names will be sharing the Radar section with new additions to the Curtocircuíto family, such as Pat Heywood and Jamil McGinnis (Gramercy); Sofia Bohdanowicz (Point and Line to Plane); and Sophie Littmann (Sudden Light).

List of films selected in Radar: 

  • Al motociclista no le cabe la felicidad en el traje, by Gabriel Herrera. 2021 - Mexico.

  • Das Spiel (The Game), by Roman Hodel. 2020 - Switzerland.

  • Dead Flash, by Bertrand Mandico. 2021 - France.

  • Det er I Jorden I (In the soil), by Casper Kjeldsen. 2021 - Denmark.

  • Deus Ex Machina, by Anssi Kasitonni. 2021 - Finland.

  • Forever, by Mitch McGlocklin. 2020 - United States.

  • Giòng Sông Không Nhìn Thấy (The Unseen River) by Pham Ngoc Lan. 2020 - Vietnam.

  • Gramercy, by Pat Heywood, Jamil McGinnis. 2020 - United States.

  • Beyond the Night, by Manuel Ponce de León. 2021 - Colombia.

  • Motorway 65, by Evi Kalogiropoulou. 20202 - Greece.

  • Orthodontics, by Mohammadreza Mayghani. 2021 - Iran.

  • Patrick, by Luke Fowler. 2020 - United Kingdom.

  • Point and Line to Plane, by Sofia Bohdanowicz. 2020 - Canada.

  • Quattro Strade, by Alice Rohrwacher. 2021 - Italy.

  • Sun of Campinas, by Jessica Sarah Rinland. 2021 - Brazil.

  • Son of Sodom, by Theo Montoya. 2020 - Colombia, Argentina.

  • Sudden Light by Sophie Littmann. 2019 - United Kingdom.

  • Taxidermisez-moi, by Marie Losier. 2021 - France. 

  • The Life Underground, by Loïc Hobi. 2020 - Switzerland.

  • The Rabbit Hunters, by Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson and Galen Johnson. 2020 - Canada.

  • Was wahrscheinlich passiert wäre, wäre ich nicht zuhause geblieben, by Willy Hans. 2020 - Germany.

Explora: 18 radical boundary-pushing films

One of Curtocircuíto's most important objectives is being committed to creativity when it comes to filmmaking, and the Explora section is the result of this commitment. A total of 18 radical, boundary-pushing (and occasionally demanding) films.

This section includes studies on landscape such as Andrea Bordoli's Terra Australis Incognita or Astrid de la Chapelle's Corps Samples, both from very different perspectives; gloomy musicals such as The Parents' Room by the Explora 2018 Prize winner Diego Marcon; and purely plastic films such as the Austrian Dissolution Prologue by Siegfried A. Fruhauf, or Berlin Feuer by the regulars Siegfrid Fruhauf and Pedro Maia. Completing this section are filmmakers such as Brazilian Ana Vaz (Pseudosphynx), James Kienitz Wilkins (Best Year Ever), Zachary Epcar (The Canyon), or Mary Helena Clark (Figure Minus Fact), present in previous editions of Explora.

List of films selected in Explora: 

  • Baki Tadu É, by Kate Saragaço-Gomes and Calum MacBeath Morgan. 2021 - India, Denmark, Portugal.

  • Berlin Feuer, by Pedro Maia. 2021 - Portugal, Germany.

  • Best Year Ever, by James Kienitz Wilkins. 2020 - United States.

  • Corps Samples, by Astrid de la Chapelle. 2021 - France.

  • Dissolution Prologue (Extended Version), by Siegfried A. Fruhauf. 2020 - Austria.

  • earthearthearth, by Daïchi Saïto. 2021 - Canada.

  • Figure Minus Fact, by Mary Helena Clark. 2020 - United States.

  • Frozen Jumper, by Tina Frank. 2020 - Austria. 

  • Imperial Irrigation, by Lukas Marxt. 2020 - Germany, Austria.

  • Minimal Sway While Starting My Way Up, by Stéphanie Lagarde. 2021 - Netherlands.

  • Misty Picture, by Christoph Girardet and Matthias Müller. 2021 - Germany.

  • Pseudosphynx, by Ana Vaz. 2020 - Brazil.

  • ROTOЯ | Sonic Body, by NO1 (Peter Kutin, Patrik Lechner, Mathias Lenz). 2020 - Austria.

  • Surviving You, Always, by Morgan Quaintance. 2021 - United Kingdom.

  • The Detection of Faint Companions, by Sandro Aguilar. 2021 - Portugal.

  • Terra Australis Incognita, by Andrea Bordoli. 2021 - Switzerland.

  • The Canyon, by Zachary Epcar. 2021 - United States.

  • The Parents' Room (La Chambre des parents), by Diego Marcon. 2021 - Italy, United Kingdom.

Curtocircuíto - International Film Festival of Santiago de Compostela is organised by the City Council of Santiago de Compostela and financed, among others, by the Diputación de A Coruña, AGADIC and the ICAA.